top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Hudson & Oscar's Shared Boys Room

When planning my boys' shared room, I knew I wanted to keep it simple, light and whimsical. I already had some things from when it was just Hudson's room that I wanted to keep and I knew I wanted to add soft blues, greys and timber elements.

I started with the large items first. I was lucky enough to win Oscar's @theincyinteriors cot and bookcase/change table and I knew I needed a bed for Hudson that would compliment Oscar's furniture. I found Hudson's teepee bed from Super Amart and bought the fake Ivy off eBay.

The hanging branch wardrobe was inspired from Pinterest. We used a branch we found outside, let it dry out, sanded it slightly and then applied a wood lacquer from Bunnings. It is fixed to the shelves with chain that is screwed into the branch. The chain is then covered with the same ivy bought off eBay. The shelves are standard floating shelves from IKEA but have added brackets to support the extra weight of the branch and the boys' clothing.

The bookcase pictured is from @incyinteriors and also comes with a wooden box to convert it to a change table as well. As part of my baby shower with Hudson I was gifted books instead of cards and it important to have storage that was also functional for the boys to access their books.

With the arrival of Oscar I found that I did actually need a space to get him changed and dressed and could not go past this stunning @olliella change basket from @sweetlittle_dreams, it fits the space so perfectly and handwoven from natural materials.

 

When adding artwork to the boys room I wanted to keep it simple and minimalist and fell in love with this gorgeous hand drawn fox from @wildberry_art. I loved how it is inspired from nature and has that 'boy' like feel and charm. I also tended to stick with the whites, greys and timber/wicker elements when adding to the shelves.

I often find myself changing these shelves and adding new pieces constantly.

 

Hudson's Bed When planning Hudson's big boy bed I wanted something a little different to what I had seen around. The house beds are gorgeous but I feel they're everywhere, so when I came across this 'Hopi Teepee Bed' from @amartfurniture I knew it's exactly what I was looking for. I love the light airy feel of the materials sides and the timber wood and white wood elements. I just added Ivy garlands on the top to give it the nature feel.

Oscar's Wall Sharing a baby and toddler has its challenges and when I came to styling Oscar's side of the room I wanted to give him his own unique space that still tied into Hudson's existing elements. Firstly, I researched. I looked on Pinterest and Instagram to see what amazing nursery's are already out there, look at the hashtags on instagram, there are so many amazing spaces there.

I first decided I was going to paint the wall, I went to Bunnings picked a few samples and came home and painted them on the wall, I finally decided on 'Jumping Jack' by Taubmans, a beautiful Blue/Grey colour. Next I looked for a few unique pieces to add to the wall and played around with the positioning on the wall (I'm still always looking to move, change and add all the time). I am still looking to add a canopy as well (have to save some funds first!)

I wanted to create a whimsical, bright, warm and inviting space for my boys to sleep, play, learn and grow. It is a continual evolving and changing space. As my boys grow, so will the room. I hope to eventually add a small table and chairs as well.

Thank you for reading and taking interest in my boys' room. I will add all room details with links and discounts below. Feel free to contact for any questions via instagram @thefolkchildstories of email thefolkchildstories@gmail.com.

 

Room Details

Paint – Taubmans (via Bunnings) - 'Jumping Jack' Hopi Teepee Bed - @amartfurniture SHOP >

Incy Interiors Teeny Cot & Book case - @incyinteriors SHOP >

Floating Shelves - @ikea_australia Ivy Garland - eBay Alpaha Board Co - @alphaboardcoSHOP > Letter Board - Small Size

Bunny Tickles - @bunnytickles(15% off use code CHILDSTORIES) SHOP > Wooden Book Shelf Burrow and Be - @burrowandbe SHOP >

Hudson's Bed Linen - Wilder Garden Woodland Duvet Chamonix Rain Organics - @chamonixraingorganics SHOP > Coconute Baby Shampoo and Moisturizer Dutchware House - @dutchwarehouse SHOP > Grey Dot Rug - (160 x 230) Grey Painted Seagrass Basket Rattan Round Mirror - Sun Emilie's Little Lamb - @emilieslittlelamb SHOP > Goodnight Baby Print Hello Little Birdie - @hellolittlebirdie SHOP > Fabels out of Vintage Ecru Bunny Head Fox House Vintage - @foxhousevintage_ SHOP > Wonderland Rabbit Cushion Glow Dreaming - @glowindreaming SHOP > Glow Dreaming Diffuser Kids Kulture - @kidskulture SHOP > Vine expandable Accordion Rack Little Merchants - @littlemerchants_ SHOP > Modern Monty - @modernmonty SHOP > Wooden Playgym Wooden Teether Monkey n Moo Shop - @monkeynmooshop SHOP > Olliella Stool - Natural Olliella Holdie House Mother by Nature Boutique - @motherbynatureboutique SHOP > Fawn and Milk Brush and Comb Set Miss Pie Designs - @miss.pie.designs SHOP > Rainbow Print My Little Joy - @mylittlejoy SHOP > Grey/Navy Floor Cushion Pretty in Pine @pretty.in.pine SHOP > Raw Sleepy Eyes Raw Wonky Rainbow Princess Panda Pants Co - @princesspandapantsco SHOP > Steel Single bed sheet

Sprout and Sparrow - @sproutandsparrow SHOP > PLAY Print - (50 x 90cm) Sweet Little Dreams - @sweetlittledreams (15% off REPFAM) SHOP > Cam Cam Balloon Mobiles Ollie Ella Nyla Change Basket Wicker Wall Basket - White Silky Tots - @silkytots SHOP > Silk Cot Slip - Grey Crosses Wildberry Art - @wildberryart SHOP > Mr Fox Print Mrs Wellington (Hedgehog) Print Herb Wreath Print Blueberry Boy Print Violet Eyes - @violet_eyes_au SHOP > Joey Roo Print Zilvi - @_zilvi SHOP > Wild Heart Plaque 'Hudson is One' Plaque

bottom of page